Obama’s professorial style

On President Obama:

“He looks at things the way a college professor would … [the] whole approach to interacting with other people is argument and debate. He falls down in thinking that the well made argument wins the argument and in politics it doesn’t work that way.”

I perceive that President Obama and I have similar personalities: non-confrontational, detail-oriented, intellectual, risk-averse, and pragmatic. He reluctantly prefers a pragmatic compromise in order to move the ball down the field ever so slowly rather than stick to his ideological preferences and risk getting nothing done. As frustrating as it can be sometimes, more often than not I find myself thinking that I would probably do the same thing if I were in his shoes…

Incidentally, I also perceive that Governor Romney, despite his political differences, has a very similar personality profile to President Obama. For that reason, I think he would be preferable to any of the other viable GOP nominee options at this point.

One response to “Obama’s professorial style

  1. Pingback: Immelman for Congress » Blog Archive » Barack Obama’s Leadership Style

Leave a comment