Romney and the DREAM Act

Even though I previously endorsed Mitt Romney for the GOP nomination (and I stand by that endorsement), it’s reasons like this that will make it very hard for me to support him in the general election:

GOP candidate Mitt Romney pledged Saturday to veto any effort by Congress to create a path to citizenship for young adults in the United States illegally. … “The question is, if I were elected and Congress were to pass the DREAM Act, would I veto it, and the answer is yes,” Romney said in response to a query from the audience of roughly 200 at The Family Table in Le Mars. The DREAM Act would offer a path to citizenship for minors in the country illegally, providing they served in the armed forces or attended college.

I’ve previously voiced my strong support for the DREAM Act and other similar comprehensive immigration legislation here

That being said, I’ll also readily admit that President Obama has been pretty disappointing on the immigration reform effort so far. But at least he would have signed the DREAM Act if it had passed Congress two years ago.

Leave a Reply

