Kentucky’s gubernatorial debate is, well, pretty boring

I was planning on spending some time this fall blogging about the ins and outs of Kentucky’s gubernatorial race. I have to admit, though, that the race has done little to spark my interest so far. Poll after poll shows incumbent Steve Beshear set to trounce Republican challenger David Williams by a landslide. The latest cn|2 poll shows 54% for Beshear and 25% for Williams. Not an impressive showing for the Republican challenger so far. Aside from the horse-race aspect, I have a hard time even getting excited about the issues. From my perspective, neither candidate is laying out an active or enticing vision of Kentucky’s future… and I watch the news a lot.

If the race heats up and actually becomes competitive, I might pay more attention to it. But in the meantime, this is shaping up to be a pretty boring campaign.

Leave a Reply

